Railway Innovation Awards

Event date



Hilton London Canary Wharf
Isle of Dogs
E14 9SH
United Kingdom

Railway Innovation Awards

4th Friday Club Event


In partnership with

Railway Industry Association Logo

Sponsored By



Founded in 1998, the Railway Innovation Awards are the longest-standing awards scheme in the industry. Now organised by the 4th Friday Club, the Awards are the annual event at which everybody keen on seeing innovation in the railway sector meets up to discuss and celebrate the brightest ideas in the industry.

Visit 2020's Virtual Railway Industry Innovation Awards 


Focal Point Preview Image

HOST: Roger Ford

Industry and Technology Editor, Modern Railways

Roger is probably best known for his authoritative column ‘Informed Sources’ in the monthly trade and technical magazine Modern Railways. ‘Informed Sources’ is noted for its in-depth analysis of railway technical, commercial and policy issues.


The schedule for the 2021 awards will be confirmed nearer the event.


The 4th Friday Club’s annual event celebrating the best in railway innovation takes place each year. The 2021 awards will be the 23rd for the longest standing award scheme in the industry.

This is an event to celebrate the achievements of those companies and individuals who are pushing the industry forward by developing innovative ideas.


Entries in the Railway Innovation Awards are assigned to one of these categories:

• Environment and sustainability

• Passenger experience

• Cross-industry partnership

• Operations and performance

• Engineering and Safety

• People, skills and diversity

• Small-scale project

• Major project

Winners of the Railway Industry Innovation Awards are presented with a fine cut glass engraved vase from Dartington Glass.


Details of entry for the 2021 awards will be provided in due course.


For sponsorship opportunities contact Dave Lane via email david.lane@keypublishing.com or call on 07795 031051


The Railway Innovation Award entries are judged by a panel of industry experts:

Focal Point Preview Image

CHAIRMAN Haydn Abbott

Former Managing Director of Angel Trains

The former Managing Director of the Angel Trains Group has also served as Chairman of the Railway Industry Association, the Railway Sector Advisory Group and is also Chairman of the UK arm of the Railway Children charity.


Focal Point Preview Image

James Abbott

Consultant Editor, Modern Railways magazine

James is one of the most respected journalists in the railway industry. He also set up the Fourth Friday Club, the magazine’s programme of formal events which includes three major annual awards ceremonies.


Focal Point Preview Image

David Clarke

Technical Director, Railway Industry Association

A chartered engineer, David has over 30 years’ rail industry experience. He was previously innovation director at RSSB, moving to RIA in 2016 to represent members’ interests in the areas of safety, technical standards, technical strategy, research and innovation.


Focal Point Preview Image

Ben Ford

Innovation Support Manager, Network Rail

Previously Innovation Manager at Pera, Ben joined Network Rail in 2012 where his role is to support and promote the company’s innovation agenda, help define projects, facilitate access to resources and manage and develop innovation systems.


Focal Point Preview Image

Irina Parsina

Microsoft Teams Customer Engineering lead for Firstline Workforce

Irina’s role in Microsoft Teams’ product group is focused on enabling organisations to digitally empower their firstline workforce, having previously driven Microsoft’s Customer Success engagements in UK rail. Before joining Microsoft, Irina led various digital projects in transport and technology sectors, having started her career in academia, working towards a PhD in computational simulation of nanoalloys.


Focal Point Preview Image

Kelvin Davies

Innovation Lead Rail, InnovateUK

Kelvin has over 20 years’ experience delivering engineering and advanced technology. He joined InnovateUK in 2015 to lead the organisation’s activities related to rail innovation including the delivery of competitions and programs on behalf of the Department for Transport and Network Rail.